About the Board

The Board consists of five members appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate (RCW 9.94A.880(1).  Members of the Board serve terms of four years or until their successors are appointed (RCW 9.94A.880(2)). Learn more about the Board bylaws.

In order to maintain the highest level of ethical standards and to protect the fairness of the proceeding, a board member will not discuss a petition pending before the Board, or a matter anticipated to be presented to the Board, with anyone outside of the quarterly hearings. Please do not contact a member of the Board about a petition.

Board members

Chief Raul Almeida: Member. Chief Almeida is captain of the Hanford Patrol, a consultant for the Washington State Traffic Safety Commission and Retired Chief of Police for the City of Mabton. Chief Almeida also works with the Office of Juvenile Justice out of Washington, D.C. He has been a member of the Board since 2000.

James A. McDevitt: Member. McDevitt is an attorney in Spokane, Washington. Member McDevitt is a former U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of Washington and retired Brigadier General with the Washington Air National Guard. Member McDevitt was appointed to the Board in 2011.

Jennifer J. Rancourt: Vice-Chair. Rancourt is a Snohomish County Public Defender and Judge Pro Tem for the Everett and Marysville Municipal Courts. Member Rancourt was appointed to the Board in 2011.

Cheryl Terry: Member. Ms. Terry is a community member from the Bothell area. She has been a member of the Board since 2004.

Chief John Turner: Chair. Chief Turner is Chief of Police for the City of Snohomish and retired Chief of Police of Mountlake Terrace. He has been a member of the Board since 2004.


For information about the Clemency and Pardons Board, or the clemency and pardons process, please contact:

Terri Gottberg, Paralegal Staff Person
Washington State Clemency and Pardons Board
Office of the Attorney General
P.O. Box 40116
Olympia, WA 98504
360- 586-0047