Connecting Washington Task Force

Finding transportation solutions to link people, communities and businesses

Effective transportation is critical to maintaining Washington’s economy, environment and quality of life. However, funding for Washington’s transportation system is insufficient over the long term. The system needs a 10-year sustainable investment strategy that ties system needs and priorities to new revenue. Governor Gregoire has formed and charged the Connecting Washington Task Force with reviewing statewide transportation needs, recommending the most promising investment options and revenue sources to address top priorities.

The group, which comprises nearly three dozen locally elected officials, members of state legislative transportation committees, tribal members, organized labor, and trade associations and businesses, will present its recommendations to the 2012 Legislature. The Governor serves as chair of the task force.

Provide suggestions & feedback

Your suggestions and ideas are important to the deliberations of the Connecting Washington Task Force. Please use this website form to provide them.

Related links

Meeting schedule

Meetings are open to the public. Agendas and materials will be posted here as they become available.

Meeting #5 – Mon., Dec. 12 | Will broadcast on TVW
9:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m., Columbia Room, Legislative Building, Olympia

Meeting #4 – Tues., Nov. 29

Meeting #3 – Tues., Oct. 4

Meeting #2 – Fri., Sept. 9

Meeting #1 – Tues., July 19

Connecting Washington Task Force Members

  • Gov. Chris Gregoire, Chair

  • Bob Adams, Vice President, Guy F. Atkinson Construction

  • Rep. Mike Armstrong, Ranking Minority Member, House Transportation Committee

  • Leo Bowman, Benton County Commissioner

  • Terry Brewer, Executive Director, Grant County Economic Development Council

  • Rodney Brown, Board Chair, Washington Environmental Council

  • Bill Bryant, Port of Seattle Commissioner

  • Rep. Judy Clibborn, Chair, House Transportation Committee

  • Richard Ford, Chair, Transportation Commission

  • Mike Fredrickson, Port of Walla Walla Commissioner

  • Charlotte Garrido, Kitsap County Commissioner

  • Paula Hammond, Secretary, Department of Transportation

  • Sen. Mary Margaret Haugen, Chair, Senate Transportation Committee

  • Fred Jarrett, Deputy King County Executive

  • Jeff Johnson, President, Washington State Labor Council 

  • Sen. Curtis King, Ranking Minority Member, Senate Transportation Committee

  • Alex McGregor, President, The McGregor Company

  • Don Meyer, Port of Tacoma Commissioner

  • E. Susan Meyer, CEO, Spokane Transit/Incoming President of the Washington Transit Association

  • David Myers, Executive Secretary, Washington State Building and Construction Trades Council

  • Kirk Nelson, President and CEO, AAA Washington

  • Laura Peterson, Vice President of State and Local Government Relations, Northwest Region, The Boeing Company

  • Tom Rasmussen, Seattle City Councilmember

  • Paul Roberts, Everett City Councilmember

  • Nick Rocchi, Managing Director Pacific Northwest District, Federal Express

  • Tim Schauer, Chair-Elect, Greater Vancouver Chamber of Commerce 

  • Mel Sheldon, Chairman, The Tulalip Tribes

  • DeLee Shoemaker, State Government Affairs Director, Microsoft Corporation

  • Tom Trulove, Mayor of Cheney

  • Stan Vander Pol, President and CEO, Peninsula Truck Lines

  • Barbara Wright, Board Member, Transportation Choices Coalition